Elysium Trailer: Wikus the Robot-Samurai

One insignificant afternoon, I was dragged to the cinema by The Sister to watch a film. I went unwillingly, decrying that I had heard nothing of this random movie and that it would definitely be horrible.  Little did I know that it would SHATTER MY WORLD.

This film was Neill Blomkamp’s DISTRICT 9.

Okay, maybe it didn’t shatter my world. My world is still pretty intact. But, District 9 very thoroughly blew my mind. Oh yes – BLEW. MY. MIND.

I am not exaggerating. I spent the next few days hypothesizing the different ways I would handle turning into a prawn-like extraterrestrial. Would I freak out and hide in the slums? Would I try to cut off my mutant limbs? Would I like the taste of catfood? (No, I did not end up trying any catfood)

The point is – Neill Blomkamp is the beezneez. His vision of the human reaction to extraterrestrials is chilling in its authenticity. Of course our small-minded ‘leaders’ would go batshit and herd them into concentration camps. We suck as a species.

As you can imagine, when the new fancy pants Elysium trailer came out, I nearly pissed myself with excitement:

Slick, non?

This is my third viewing of it so I’m just trying to remember exactly how I felt when I first watched it. I guess you could say I felt something akin to wary anticipation.

It looks cool and there’s heaps of stuff going for it:

Robotic Jason Bourne

yipee-ki-yay, mothaf*cka

yipee-ki-yay, mothaf*cka

Futuristic Kate Gosselin

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 6.55.55 PM

Jodie: “Oh god… why…”

A Versace full-body scanner

'Versace - fight cancer with style'

Versace – fight cancer with style

Bonus Wikus Van Der Merwe (Sharlto Copley) as sweaty sword guy! (1:52)

Samurai Wikus

Samurai Wikus

Despite all this collective awesomeness, I worry that Neill Blomkamp can’t do with $100 million (Elysium) what he did with just $30 million (District 9).

On the one hand, ZOMG mo’ moneyz! Robots! Spaceships! Explosions! Supplements for Matt Damon’s abs! On the other, I fear that the creative budgeting that resulted in the gritty and alarmingly realistic world of District 9 will be diluted into a CGI bonanza.

But maybe, thats just me being a negative nancy. I want to have faith, Neill Blomkamp!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

